You're Invited! Book Launch Party on Friday, May 28

In this society, numbers talk. By quantifying the real-world impact of social justice initiatives, activists can learn where and how to concentrate their efforts for maximum effectiveness. Statistics also provide imperative data points that can be persuasively presented and shared.


This need for numbers in doing social justice research served as the motivation for the new book “Quantitative Research Methods in Communication: The Power of Numbers for Social Justice," written by Drs. Erica Scharrer & Srivi Ramasubramanian.


Get a special 20% discount with Routledge by using AET21 as the promotional code during checkout.


Quantifying the seemingly nebulous social justice initiatives of media representation and stereotyping, Dr. Erica Scharrer from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst has partnered with Dr. Srividya “Srivi” Ramasubramanian to write “Quantitative Research Methods in Communication: The Power of Numbers for Social Justice.”


The book, “Quantitative Research Methods in Communication” is available in print and electronically now.


To celebrate the published book we invite researchers and scholars to join our Facebook Live book launch party on Friday, May 28 at 11 am CT/12 pm ET/9 am PT/9:30 pm IST.


RSVP to the Book Launch Party HERE.


Filled with pleasant perks for participants, the event will feature special presentations from the co-authors, a Q$A session, discount opportunities, and book giveaways.


Dr. Scharrer and Dr. Ramasubramanian wrote this textbook primarily for graduate and advanced undergraduate courses in research methods for communication and social sciences – but anyone curious about the subject matter is welcome to read the book, which was written with attention to understandable accessibility.


This 12-chapter textbook communicates why and how to conduct research that contributes to social justice. Published by Routledge, the book is featured in Routledge Social Justice Communication Activism Series.


Author-wise, readers can rest assured that Dr. Scharrer and Dr. Srivi - both professors and thought-leaders in their field - know what they are talking about. Dr. Scharrer is a chair of the Department of Communication at UMass. Dr. Scharrer also is co-author of three additional books, including Media and the American Child, and editor of the Media Effects/Media Psychology volume of the International Encyclopedia of Media Studies. Dr. Srivi’s research focuses on critical media effects, diversity, anti-racism, prejudice reduction, media literacy, and social justice and has been published in several journals, books, and popular press outlets.


Watch the dynamic duo unbox their book below:


RSVP to the Book Launch Party HERE.


This blog post was written by Riley Farrell, a student journalist at Texas A&M University.